Jake’s Christmas Music of 2009

1- The Christmas Song – Owl City

http://www.4shared.com/download/119958699/1c647816/Owl_City-_Christmas_Song.mp3?v=1
Dangit, Adam Young, you could at least put this on a CD so we don’t have to commit illegal internet acts to obtain it.

2- The Christmas Song- Catherine Feeny (Original by Mel Torme)


Love it simple and lady-like.

3- That Was The Worst Christmas Ever!- Sufjan Stevens

http://www.4shared.com/download/114522988/b2aca333/Sufjan_Stevens_-_That_Was_The_Worst_Christmas_Ever.mp3?v=1
Banjos and piano and chorus singing, Oh My!

4- Frosty the Snowman- Fiona Apple (Original- Who Cares?)


This is what happens when you little kids build a magic snowman. Someone writes a song about it and then creates a 50’s claymation video series that’s played on ABC every year. Fiona Apple rubs the nostalgia in like silver polish.

5- Christmas Time’s A-Comin’- Bill Monroe (1951)

Click Here–> : )

Don’t let the record crackle and doofy country-hick vocals fool you…this is actually Kanye West and Jay-Z’s newest Christmas collaboration with the Bluegrass Boys. Hope this made you laugh.

6- We Wish You a Merry Christmas- Relient K

I got this whole album (Deck the Halls, Bruise your Hand) when I was like 13 during Christmas…It brings so many good memories back.

7- White Christmas- Emery


Another reason why I consider Emery to be one of my all-time favorite bands for the rest of eternity.

8- What’s This!?- Fall Out Boy- (Original by Jack Skellington)

Yep, yep a song spawned by curiosity. Fall Out Boy adds to the tension of misunderstood Christmas joy. Two hours from now, you will still be singing “What’s this?” over and over again and then humming the rest in forgetfulness. Not to mention this video is impressive…that must have taken a while to lay the track over the video.

9- Put the Lights On the Tree- Sufjan Stevens

http://www.4shared.com/download/73014664/8d6f303b/02_Put_The_Lights_On_The_Tree.mp3?v=1
A simple tune about witnessing to your Grandma on Christmas. But don’t forget to decorate you tree and wreath before you make the call, Sufjan Stevens insists. I know I put this guy twice on the list but he has the best Christmas album ever…no seriously EVER.

10

11

12

8 thoughts on “Jake’s Christmas Music of 2009

  1. Great article. There’s a lot of good info here, though I did want to let you know something – I am running Fedora with the circulating beta of Firefox, and the look and feel of your blog is kind of funky for me. I can understand the articles, but the navigation doesn’t function so great.

    1. Yes I know I have told WordPress that this is a problem but they are only saying that they do not support the beta version of Firefox and will support Firefox 1,2, and some of the newest 3.0 versions. I have tried to make the sidebar navigation simple enough by using pictures for navigation unfortunately the JavaScript that controls the navigation is out of my control! So Thank you for your suggestion I love it when people tell me what I can do to make my blog better, Keep coming back! Its so exciting to see people interested in my stuff. haha :)

  2. I really liked reading your post!. Quallity content. With such a valuable blog i believe you deserve to be ranking even higher in the search engines :). Check out the link in my name. That links to a tool that really helped me rank high in google. This way even more people can enjoy your posts and nothing beats a big audiance ;)

    1. Thank You very Much! I’m a pretty fresh blogger but I do web design so I tried my best to get the best tags to draw people in. The tool sounds like a great idea! I will definitely try it! Keep on coming back I post new stuff almost all the time! I’m getting ready to post a short story day by day in a week and also some of my music.

    1. Thanks I get really great results on this post. Keep on coming back. I actually saw the concert were Emery performed that song live. They are on my top ten for favorite musicians.

Leave a Reply

