Underneath Sparrows

Tie my t-shirt around my mouth
Look at me now
And kill one for height
Set them in the ground
look at them now

Is not the sparrow naked and full?
Watch how trees keep them still and content

What’s the point of living in gold?
To gain it all, to lose your soul
What’s the point of living at all?
If the flowers of the field are clothed
What makes you think you’re in your control?

Hang me up by the nice guy
We’ll fly through the roof
and shove it back at me
your knives
Do I bleed blue?
Don’t you bleed too?

When the truck swerved off its path
My faith was killed, My God was damned
Underneath the tire tracks
My heart is dark, My blood is black

Leave a Reply

